The Shoes of Francisco de Encinas (1520-1552)

When my grandfather died, I brought home a pair of his cowboy boots.  I had expectations of wearing them with pride for any and all occasions.  I put them on and well …. he had worn them so much, that the soles had molded to the curves of his feet.  No matter how determined I was, they hurt too much to wear.

Someone’s shoes are hard to fill.  They are also hard to imagine wearing, mostly because we want them to fit.   So imaging that I am in the shoes of someone else requires me to let go of my own sense of self and my preferences.   That’s difficult to do.  I’m not sure I’m fully there yet.

The January 27th Art and Craft of Blogging weekly Writing Challenge from The Daily Press at WordPress.Com is to write from the perspective of being in someone’s shoes.   Living in a small town and working in an industry where confidentiality is demanded, I’m choosing to write about someone in history.  I recently bought a book called “The Westminster Dictionary of Theologians“.  I decided to close my eyes, open the book, and point.   My finger landed on Francisco de Encinas (1520-1552).  I had never heard of him before.

—– ><><>< —– ><><>< —–

It’s harder to breath these days and I’ve found a new boil.   They say its the plague.  I’m in my mid thirties and facing death … again.  At this point I’m struggling to find hope that I will recover.  Nothing much to do these days, as I’m too weak to finish the translation … my passion, my calling, my purpose, my vision.  I’m so close to finishing it.  My people need the Scripture in their language!  We’ve fought so hard.  I’ve fought so hard.

I feel like Moses who couldn’t enter the promised land.  David who couldn’t build the temple.   Father, have I fallen short?  Have I sinned against You?  Is there some reason You are taking me home before I finish?   It’s a bitter sweet thought, crossing over into eternity without finishing my race.

I remember when I started this journey.  One of 10 kids destined to be wool merchant like my father.   Those early years in Spain seem too far away.  How did I get here from there?  Its miraculous, really.

Miracles.  I could use a miracle.  I wonder if this is how Christ felt while hanging on the cross?   “A esa hora Jesús gritó con fuerza:  — ¡Eloí, Eloí! ¿lemá sabaqtaní? (que significa: “Dios mío, Dios mío, ¿por qué me has abandonado?”).”  Marcos 15:34  La Palabra.

I’m beginning to sound like David from Psalms.  We have so much in common.  Where did he get the courage to go up against Goliath in his youth?  He was just a shepherd boy. Surely, the Holy Spirit.

That’s how I did it in the Vrunte prison.   I was imprisoned for publishing the Scripture in Spanish.  Crazy to think the Reformation started before I was born and persecution is still so much a part of my life.   I survived a year of torture in that dark place.   (I smile) I meditated on the Word and wrote out the translations in my mind.   The prison doors opened for Paul and his chains fell off.  I escaped.  It was just a few years ago, although it seems like a lifetime.  I can still smell the horrible stench.

I remember when Diego and I were called away from the family business and into ministry.   I miss him so much.     It’s been 5 years since his horrible death.   I can still see his tortured body and the flames.  Our Lord knew you were the stronger one, brother.   If you only knew how important your work was and still is.  Martin Luther was proud of you, too.

Will my children remember me when I’m gone?  Is my wife proud of me?  Did she ever truly understand the width and depth of what God called me to do?  I think so.  She was a religious exile just like me when we met.  Oh, how I love her.   Maybe this is why we’ve struggled so much, so she could be prepared now.

I can see her and our girls in our publishing house.  Finally, a safe place to write and publish.  No more traveling from country to country … Spain, Germany, Belgium, England and now France.  I like France.   My three ladies, in their beautiful dresses, picking lovely flowers and singing hymns.   Finally, sleep is upon me.  I will wake in eternity.

(Note:  His wife Margaret died approximately a month later. )

—– ><><>< —– ><><>< —–

Following are contributions from other bloggers in this challenge.  These are the pingpacks at the time of my post.  For a complete list, see the Shoes Writing Challenge page.

  1. Weekly Writing Challenge: Perspectives | A mom’s blog
  2. Inside the head of a sporadic three year old | From One Crazy Life To Another
  3. Fifteen Year Old Me Is Disgusted | The Cheese Whines
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave your shoes at the door! | khaula mazhar
  5. The Curse of Personal Knowledge | Emotional Fitness
  6. Elvis Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  7. Weekly Challenge: A Mile in your Fur | Confessions of a Nerdy Girl
  8. Weekly writing challenge – leave your shoes at the door | Susi Matters
  9. Let’s Do Something Amazing! | rarasaur
  10. DP weekly challenge – shoes – A morning in the life of sonny Jim. |
  11. That’s not me | Mort La Datorie
  12. In the mind of a dolphin kidnapper | In my world
  13. The Color Purple, Maybe/DPChallenge | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  14. Other point of views – For the Dailypost | readsomethingdifferent
  15. My Parents’ Divorce: Weekly Word Challenge | Between Madness & Euphoria
  16. When is ‘now’ over so ‘later’ can start? | New tricks for old dogs
  17. Bête Noire | Paper Plane Pilots
  18. Appreciating my Parents after Rearing my own Children, DPchallenge | Angela McCauley
  19. Not All Shoes Fit The Same | The Chatter Blog
  20. in the middle of the night | The Matticus Kingdom
  21. The language barrier | Never Stationary
  22. Perhaps today will snow « Dancing with Fireflies
  23. A Day In The Life | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  24. Switching It Up: DP Weekly Challenge | The Tawny’s Blog
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes At The Door | imagination
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | Picayune Pieces
  27. Can you Imagine Being Gay? | Abstractions of Life
  28. Platonic Shift | Brain Droppings
  29. Leave Your Shoes At The Door: Memory Clinic | At least we made it this far…
  30. Introverts, Elephants | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  31. Front Door Shoes | Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  32. From Lima Beans To Turtles | Fish Of Gold
  33. Birthdays | This thing called, “Life.”
  34. Mommy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! | Love.Books.Coffee.
  35. Sitting In a Pew | The Photo Faith Challenge
  36. A life not planned… | From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms
  37. I Married a Handsome Fool (wife’s perspective from husband’s view) | Movie Hugs Will Kill You
  38. I lost my virginity in ugly underwear. | bethanyah
  39. A Speech Evaluation as Experienced from the Other Side of My Desk | Ginger’s Grocery
  40. “Lets Walk Without Our Shoes Down Childhood Memory Lane” | Just A Recovery Author Learning To Be A Better Writer
  41. Glimpses Into a Younger Me | missmoodygirl
  42. Can’t you see Things From my Point of View? | Humans Are Weird
  43. ON THE RIVER | Serendipity
  44. “He died while you were in the coma.” | Lauren Kells
  45. Weekly Writing Challenge: Betty | Posting Tuesdays. I am Grayson.
  46. Always Your Angel | My Muted Voice
  47. Weekly Writing Challenge: Sandals At The Door | Running Into Life
  48. In My Sister’s Shoes: The Weekly Writing Challenge | Exploring Pixie
  49. Tiptoes | asweetbrightthing
  50. In her shoes | The Word Trance
  51. Wearing someone else’s shoes even when they give you blisters | mummy flying solo
  52. I Love You Three, Mummy (DP WW Challenge) | farmerfarthing
  53. Upstaged by sunrise | litadoolan
  54. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | The Undercover Princess
  55. Something That Endears Me To You | living my life
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | Perks of Being an Orchid
  57. Something That Allures Me To You | living my life
  58. Weekly writing challenge – leave your shoes at the door. | LEATHER & ABEL
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge; Leave Your Shoes at the Door | 2far2shout
  60. Perspective | Finale to an Entrance
  61. Tell me… | nightmare of daytime
  62. Adam Ickes | Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door
  63. From another point of view | Sue’s Trifles
  64. Three Women – No Heartbeat | The Cranky Giraffe
  65. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | Of Glass & Paper
  66. (Your) Experience Isn’t Everything | ReFreshing Life
  67. A tale of two visions | Suddenly Single in Marin
  68. Weekly Writing Challenge ‘Leave Your Shoes at the Door’: Two different Prisons | Thoughts of an INFP
  69. I Need a Phone Call and Everything After | Running On Sober
  70. Leafy Shoes | Electronicbaglady’s Bag of Bits
  71. The Trials and Tributes of a Landlady | The Pen Speaks Better
  72. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | rahul ranjan’s blog
  73. As She Watched | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  74. Housecleaning 1900′s Style | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  75. Weekly Writing Challenge: Hybrid | Musings of a Dancing Wino
  76. A matter of perspective | Stories from aside
  77. Time, Fleeting Love | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  78. Writing Challenge| Leave Your Shoes At The Door | Misadventures Of Me
  79. In someone else’s shoes… | The Fiction of Michael R. Wilson
  80. A Different Perspective | Niki’s Thoughts
  81. DP Weekly writing challenge- The morning meet of Mr Carrier bag and bag lady. |
  82. Kick ‘er ‘ead in! – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt
  83. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | Alizzze
  84. Fiction: The Typewriter |
  85. Going for the Kill (# 7) | Rolbos ©
  86. Leave your shoes at the door | elizabeth milligan
  87. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | jwdwrites
  88. I lost my virginity in ugly underwear. Con’t… | bethanyah
  89. I’ve Stopped; They’re Still Trying | Ever Upward
  90. Stuff. — Is It a Mess? Or a Memory? Two Views of Socks, Dishes, Toys and Shoes » MommyVerbs
  91. Social Work Topics: Perspective | Welcome to Social Work
  92. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leave Your Shoes at the Door | Maranda Guerriero
  93. The Cafeteria | Lewis Cave
  94. She Says, He Says | pleaseleaveareply
  95. Leave Your Shoes at the Door | bottleandink
  96. Weekly Writing Challenge : Leave your Shoes at the Door – Me, Instructor and that Man! | simplyvegetarian777
  97. Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
18 thoughts on “The Shoes of Francisco de Encinas (1520-1552)

  1. Fascinating historical perspective. Such inspired thoughts.

    ps I am trying to learn how to do a list of ping backs like this. I will try a copy and paste and see how that works. This list looks neat.

    1. Thank you. I was trying to figure out how to add the links also and discovered that copy and paste worked the best. It’s not as personal, but doing it one link at a time and adding the correct headings to each link was a lot of work.

    1. Yes, we are. However, I am also American Indian descent, and from that perspective, there is still a long way to go. It may not be as bad as it was in the 1500s when people were burned at the stake, but I have friends involved in law suits and court cases and threats of imprisonment in this day and age over religious freedom issues in the US.

  2. How brave of you to write from the perspective of someone you had never even heard of before *stands and applauds bravery* I wrote from the perspective of my son (as you know) whom can speak for himself and even then my husband disagreed with some of my post ha ha – can’t win em all

    1. Thank you. I’ve been enjoying the many posts, too. Although, I am behind in reading. I’m hoping to give some time to reading tomorrow. You’re a blessing. Have an awesome day/ night.

Leave a Reply

