Squeaky Cold -2F

This morning I woke up, looked at the clock and then checked my local weather app on my phone.  -2F.  Burrr.

I put on my first layer, then my second layer, then my third and my insulated Muck boots.  I put on my hat and gloves, call to my faithful companion, Halo, and out we go.

Halo wants to play in the -2C weather.  Hummm.
Halo wants to play in the -2F weather. Hummm.

Halo thinks its play time.  (She’s part Malamute. ) Not today.  I can already feel the cold freeze inside my nose.  Today we only have time and energy to feed the horses.  Even with all the layers, the cold gets into the bones quick.

Squeak, squeak, squeak. … When it’s this cold, everyone’s feet squeak on the snow.   As we get closer to the horses, more squeaking.  Its actually quite humorous, 40 hooves squeaking.   Its the only sound this morning.  Squeak, squeak, squeak.

Stormy and Rebel on a cold day.
Stormy and Rebel on a cold day.

The horses and mules all have frosty faces.  This is the third clue that it really is below zero.   Today I will feed them twice as much.  The extra fuel helps them stay warm.

Each time I take a picture, I have to take off my gloves, as I am using my smart phone.  With each picture my fingers hurt from the cold.  Needless to say, I didn’t take a lot of photos.

My cheeks are starting to feel cold, my own hair is starting to frost, and I have two more trips to make out to the mustangs.  The snow is really deep, so walking in the cold and the deep snow, with arms full of hay, uses a lot of energy.

Cold Montana Morning
Cold Montana Morning

This picture is the view from the mustangs’ corral.  It really is breathtaking.   This is looking east.   To the west, the sky is pinks, oranges, and yellows.  I couldn’t get a good picture from my pasture and its just too darn cold to walk for a good shot.

I put the camera away and put on my gloves.  My fingers got colder, faster that time.  One more trip back to the hay barn and back to the corral and I can go inside.  I note that the water troughs are all getting a little low.  It will have to wait to later.

—- A Note of Correction & New Photos ——

After I posted this, my husband, bless his heart, informed me I had my F and C mixed up.  LOL.  That’s what I get for trying to be ‘international’ in my writing.  LOL .  I have since made the corrections.  I’ve also added some more photos below, as the view totally changed while I was in my office composing this post.

A fresh look an hour after I came inside from the cold.
A fresh look an hour after I came inside from the cold.
View from my kitchen.
View from my kitchen.
Leave a Reply

