Beading Saves the Day on the Eve of Valentine’s Day

When I read this week’s Writing Challenge:  My funny Valentine?, my heart sank.   How can I possibly come up with an original, creative, unique story?   … Maybe I’m just lacking the “holiday spirit”, as they say.   … Either way, I had pretty much decided I would not participate this week.

It’s not that I don’t have plans.  I do.  In fact, I’m facilitating a Valentine’s Day Wedding.   After the wedding, my hubby and I plan to go to the movies.  Then Saturday we are going to the Rocky Mountain Extreme Professional Bullriding PBR event at the Majestic Valley Arena.   Actually, as I write all this down in black and white, I realize the “bah humbug” is gone.

Of course, that’s not how my day started.   Stress, stress, stress.  I came home with a headache and stressed.   I fed my mules their mush, I filled the water troughs, I cooked some dinner and made some phone calls, and I bought the tickets for Saturday.   Ugh, after all of that, I’m hours behind in starting my earrings.

I needed some earrings for the wedding tomorrow.  I decided I would bead them, trying my best to create the design my husband thought of.   I was thinking ‘beading’ all day.  While I was at work, in between patients and meetings, while I was doing chores and cooking, I was planning it out in my head.   In fact, I was so focused and feeling pressed for time, I ate dinner while gathering all of my supplies.   This was a trick, as it was spaghetti.

I picked out my beads, plugged in my light and magnifying glass, threaded my needle and sketched out my design.  I have never done anything like this before, so I am hoping that I get it right on the first try.  I don’t have time to redo this project.  I say a silent prayer.

As I’m threading the first few beads, I’m watching … hoping.  Success!  My pattern works.  … Oh wait, it’s upside down.  … I can fix that. …. Whew.  …. I finish the first earring.   Now, the second one.  … Okay, how do I do this so it’s not upside down.   I’ll try this … Awesome!  It worked.  … Yay!!  I might still have time to type out the ceremony tonight, too.

I realized when I was all done beading, I was COMPLETELY relaxed.   It had taken me a couple of hours of very specific concentration.  Focusing on each bead.  Choosing the right color.  Counting the right amount of beads.  Running the needle and thread through the right beads.   Keeping the thread from knotting and fraying.   Did you know that when you make a pair of earrings like this, it is one single thread traveling through all of these beads in a very calculated manner?  Amazing.

My Valentine's Day earrings.
My Valentine’s Day earrings.
In response to your posts, here is a picture.  :)  Thanks for asking.  :)
In response to your posts, here is a picture. 🙂 Thanks for asking. 🙂

I was thinking I was beading because I needed earrings to wear while I officiate the wedding.   Something to match the theme.  Now I know I was beading because I needed something to quiet my heart.   I know with every fiber of my being, that the drive to make the earrings came from Someone greater than myself.   Someone who knows me better than I know myself.   Now that’s a Valentine’s Day gift!!   That’s Love!!

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV

Below is a random sampling of contributions made by other bloggers in response to this challenge.  For the whole list, visit the Writing Challenge page.

  1. Autumn’s Return | Lillie-Put
  2. Happy 3rd Birthday! | Sentiments of a Working Mom | Another Mommy Blog
  3. Weekly Writing Challenge: Valentine | medicinalmeadows
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine? | Reinventing the We’ll
  5. St. Valentine’s Day « Mama Bear Musings
  6. My Deaf Words | FILMS | FOOD | POETRY
  7. What to write in a Valentine card | writemybrainsout
  8. The Letter [Weekly Writing Challenge] | Thoughts from Elysium
  9. Help! My Valentine Smells like Poop! | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  10. What if Cupid was pissed? | Okay, What if ?
  11. Too Much Heaven | Chasing the Stars
  12. Valentine’s Day Haters’ Club – Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge | Waiting on a Word
  13. Valentine’s Day Haters’ Club – Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge | Waiting on a Word
  14. The Valentine’s Day Card | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
  15. Words for Nancy | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. An Open Letter to Valentine’s Day | meg lago
  17. The Joy of Books – A Guide for the Valentine’s Day Escape Artist | aliabbasali
  18. The Gift of a Heart for Valentine’s Day | Busy Mind Thinking
  19. Valentines day: do we really need it? | BIGMOUTH STRIKES AGAIN.
  20. Cupid’s Arrow | The View from My Corner of the World
23 thoughts on “Beading Saves the Day on the Eve of Valentine’s Day

    1. Thank you so much. I have been wanting to learn to do this for several years. Finally in December I decided to a order a beginners book from Crazy Crow Trading Post. It has been great. The instructions are really clear and helpful. Thanks so much for your kind words.

      1. I will hunt out that title. Charity shops often have beautiful old necklaces that need to be restrung so may be a fun way to make some personalised gifts. Thanks 🙂

  1. Rev. Jeny,
    I love your blog and this post in particular reminds me of my mom and the recent, unexpected, tragic loss of her husband (my step-dad) last June. It has been a difficult time for my family and it’s the beauty of the simple things in life that keep our faith strong.
    Please accept the Sunshine award to recognise great work that is full of life! http://advocacyautismspecialneeds.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/sunshine-on-a-poopy-day/
    (don’t worry it’s only a poopy day because we’re potty training 🙂 )
    Sincerely,
    Julie

  2. How I love to read your blog! Have a beautiful Valentine’s weekend and please take a picture with your earrings on and post it!! I think they are lovely in more than one way…

    1. Thank you. Yes, crafting is fun when they go wrong, too. I think I’m finally at a place to enjoy the journey of crafting without getting too stressed about the bumps in the road. LOL. The wedding went very well. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

